Apply for the $50,000 UNESCO Prize for Girls and Women’s Education

The UNESCO Prize for Girls and Women is an annual $50,000 award aimed at improving and promoting the educational prospects of girls and women and in turn, the quality of their lives.

The UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education honours outstanding and innovative contributions made by individuals, institutions, and organizations to advance girls’ and women’s education.

In this post, you will find information explaining the requirements, benefits, and application process of the UNESCO Prize for Girls and Women Education.

UNESCO Prize for Girls Summary

  • Host: UNESCO
  • Category: Competitions | Training 
  • Eligible Countries: All UNESCO Countries
  • Reward: $50,000/Yr
  • No IELTS Required 
  • Deadline: May 24, 2024

UNESCO Prize for Girls Scholarship Details:

Funded by the Government of the People’s Republic of China, the Prize is conferred annually to two laureates and consists of an award of US $50,000 each to help further their work in the area of girls’ and women’s education.

UNESCO calls for attention to gender equality throughout the education system in relation to access, content, teaching and learning context and practices, learning outcomes, and life and work opportunities.

You are encouraged to seize this golden opportunity and apply as soon as possible.

Eligibility Requirements for UNESCO Prize for Girls 2024

To be considered for the UNESCO Prize for Girls and Women, you must:

  • be nominated by the dedicated online platform in English or French by a National Commission or Permanent Delegation to UNESCO of the concerned Member State, or by an NGO in official partnership with UNESCO.

Benefits of [UNESCO Prize for Girls 2024

The UNESCO Prize is a $50,000 award conferred annually to two laureates and consists of an award for each to help further their work in the area of girl’s and women’s education. 

How to Apply for the UNESCO Prize for Girls (Step by Step)

To apply for the UNESCO Prize, you have to be nominated by a recognized body that has relations with UNESCO.

Nomination Process for the UNESCO Prize for Girls

Who can nominate?

  • Governments of UNESCO Member States via their Permanent Delegations to UNESCO and Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO can make up to 3 nominations. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Who can be nominated?

  • Individuals, institutions, or organizations advancing girls’ and women’s education are eligible for nomination.
  • Nominations must focus on an established project or programme of the candidate, which has been running for at least two years, and meets the selection criteria.

How to be nominated?

  • Self-nominations are not accepted. If you, your institution, or your organization meet the selection criteria, please contact your country’s National Commission to UNESCO or a relevant NGO in official Partnership with UNESCO
  • National Commissions and Permanent Delegations to UNESCO may access the online submissions platform through their official UNESCO account using the following link:
  • NGOs in official partnership with UNESCO will be granted direct access to the online platform by the Secretariat upon request. To request access, please contact [email protected]

Click on the button below to visit the application page.

Scholarship Link:

Deadline: January 15, 2022